Find information on:
    China-Dutch Center
    Third Asian
       Conference on
       Unsaturated Soils
Geotechnical Institute of Hohai University
Hohai University (formerly known as East China University of Water Resources) is one of the national key universities administered directly under the Ministry of Education. It is also one of the first universities empowered by the State Council to confer Bachelor's, Master's, Doctor's degrees and approve the qualifications of professor, and doctoral supervisor.
Geotechnical Institute of Hohai University (GeoHohai) was founded in 1952 by Huang Wenxi, member of the Chinese Academy of Science and pioneer in geotechnical engineering. Subsequently, the institute was developed steadily under the leadership of professors Qian Jiahuan, Xu Zhiying and Yin Zongze. It is one of the Institutes authorized by the State Council to confer Master's and Doctor's degrees, in 1981 and 1982, respectively. It has been accredited by the Ministry of Education as the national key subject since 1988. The post-doctoral program was commenced in 1991. In 1994, it was approved by the Ministry of Water Resources as the key geotechnical engineering laboratory. In 1999 and 2007, it was commissioned by the Ministry of Education to establish Yangtze River Scholar Professorship and the Key Laboratory for Geomechanics and Embankment Engineering.
GeoHohai employs 46 qualified staff, including 16 professors, 22 associate professors and 6 lecturers. Thirty three of them have Ph.D degrees. Currently there are 5 post-doctors, 96 Ph.D students and 236 master students pursuing their degrees at Geohohai.
Copyright @2003 GeoHohai